Dear 2022,

Dear 2022,

i’m coming from a complicated relationship with your predecessor. I don’t want to thank you before you leave so i’ll thank you now for showing up as usually years do, for being the next after the other, but mostly for surprising me at the first hours of your existence with confirmations, invitations, introspection, bonding and some fun.

i wanted to say i’ll be short but i never know what’s next to come out of my thoughts. i could end it here, or i could write many words describing you how my last year was.

there i go

so you should know, probably, that my last year was challenging. i lost a lot of the things that brought me peace. i lost control over a business, i lost employees, partners, i wasted a lot of time being unaware and burned out for things i couldn’t control, that perhaps i should’ve. i lost faith in what i believe, in what i pursue, i gave away my energy, i held myself knowingly captive in a pattern of my not-self. i fought and won some battles and i’ve lost some. but i am happy. because on this unstable building we made, lies a promise of the identity itself. a promise of existence and development. i lived in a bubble for some time and i never knew for sure that the actions i make have a real influence on people around. i didn’t even knew if they ever really saw us. but something clicked at the right moment, to reveal that one crucial thing that brings life in an living organism: RECOGNITION.

so that’s what i wanted to thank you for, 2022, for recognition. for actually putting it up on the table from your first breaths. now that you gave me this, there’s a slowly growing responsibility that lit up in my chest. you brought up to life what i only just thought. now i feel it and that makes it real and doable.

have a good trip with us this year,

take it gently

mine,

Maria

Leave a comment